Hier können Sie die Auswahl einschränken.
Wählen Sie einfach die verschiedenen Kriterien aus.

eNews

X





Gathered Leaves
USA. Vasa, Minnesota. 2002. Charles
© Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

Alec Soth »

Gathered Leaves

Exhibition: – 24 Jul 2022

Kunstfoyer

Maximilianstr. 53
80530 München

+49 (0)89-2160 2244


www.versicherungskammer-kulturstiftung.de

daily 9:30 - 18:45

Gathered Leaves
CANADA. 2004. Two towels
© Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

Alec Soth
"Gathered Leaves"


Exhibition: 3 May – 24 July 2022

Book Launch and Signing with Alec Soth: 2 & 3 May, 7-8pm
Free admission. Access only with personal online ticket and FFP2 mask.
Registration here

The exhibition surveys two decades of work by acclaimed photographer Alec Soth (born 1969). It brings together five of his major works – Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004), Niagara (2006), Broken Manual (2010), Songbook (2014) and the most recent, A Pound of Pictures (2022).

Soth is a fine artist, a Magnum photojournalist, a blogger, a self-publisher, an Instagrammer, an educator. He explores the many different forms photography takes in the world, and works to create different types of encounter with his audiences: from museum shows to live workshops conducted from his Winnebago. This exhibition is conceived to reflect the evolution of Soth’s individual series as they have moved from the page of the maquette or book to the wall of the gallery. A lyrical documentary photographer in the tradition of Robert Frank, Stephen Shore and Joel Sternfeld, Soth regards himself first and foremost as an American photographer. His country’s physical landscapes – the majestic Mississippi, the thundering Niagara Falls, the wide open deserts and wildernesses, the small towns and suburbs – have provided the structure and setting for his poetic surveys of American life.

The exhibition title, Gathered Leaves, refers on one level to photography simply as sheets of paper brought together. It is also a line taken from that quintessentially American epic, Walt Whitman’s Song of Myself (1855). Whitman’s poem catalogued the diversity of the nation on the eve of the Civil War. Soth’s America, in the early 21st century, is also described in a time of tension, as the nation wrestles its conflicting desires for individualism and community.

The exhibition is accompanied by the publication Alec Soth. Gathered Leaves Annotated, published by MACK, 55€.

Following on from the bestselling box set Gathered Leaves, this unique publication brings together five of Soth’s major books in their entirety in a single, compact, and densely detailed volume. Across more than 700 pages of newsprint, Soth updates and reimagines the original version of Gathered Leaves by reproducing every spread from these five books with detailed annotations in the form of notes, text extracts, and additional photographs. This new roadmap through Soth’s oeuvre also includes a new introduction by the artist.

Soth’s meteoric rise to international acclaim began with his first book, Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004), an elegiac road trip down the 'third coast' of the United States, which has since has sold through numerous print runs and is widely acknowledged as a classic. The success of his subsequent volumes Niagara (2006), Broken Manual (2010), and Songbook (2015) elaborated Soth’s lyrical but unflinching approach and reinforced his position as a master of the book form. His most recent work, A Pound of Pictures (2022), brings a new, poetic perspective to the idiosyncrasies of American life and the practice of image-making, broached once again through Soth’s now-distinctive road trip format.

Gathered Leaves
King & Sheridan, Tulsa, Oklahoma
© Alec Soth / Magnum Photos

Alec Soth
"Gathered Leaves"


Ausstellung: 3. Mai bis 24. Juli 2022

Book Launch und Signing mit Alec Soth: 2. und 3. Mai, 19-20 Uhr
Eintritt frei. Besuch nur mit persönlichem Onlineticket und FFP2 Maske.
Registrierung hier

Die Ausstellung gibt einen Überblick über zwei Jahrzehnte des Schaffens des amerikanischen Fotografen Alec Soth (*1969). Sie bringt fünf Hauptwerke zusammen: Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004), Niagara (2006), Broken Manual (2010), Songbook (2014) und als jüngstes Werk A Pound of Pictures (2022).

Soth ist bildender Künstler, Magnum-Fotojournalist, Blogger, Selbstverleger, Instagrammer und Pädagoge. Er untersucht viele verschiedene Formen, die die Fotografie in der Welt annehmen kann, und schafft unterschiedliche Arten der Begegnung mit seinem Publikum: von Museumsschauen bis hin zu Live-Workshops, die von seinem Winnebago-Wohnmobil aus durchgeführt werden. Die Idee dieser Ausstellung ist es, die Entwicklung der einzelnen Serien Soths von der Seite der Maquette oder des Buches bis hin zur Galeriewand widerzuspiegeln.

Als lyrischer Dokumentarfotograf in der Tradition von Robert Frank, Stephen Shore und Joel Sternfeld sieht sich Soth selbst zuallererst als amerikanischer Fotograf. Die physischen Landschaften seines Heimatlandes – der majestätische Mississippi, die tosenden Niagarafälle, die weiten offenen Wüsten und unberührten Gebiete, die Kleinstädte und städtischen Randgebiete – bilden die Struktur und das Setting seiner poetischen Studien des amerikanischen Lebens.

Der Ausstellungstitel Gathered Leaves (gesammelte Blätter) bezieht sich einerseits auf die Fotografie im Sinne von zusammengetragenen Papierbögen. Andererseits zitiert der Titel eine Zeile aus dem zutiefst amerikanischen, epischen Gedicht Song of Myself (1855) von Walt Whitman. Whitmans Gedicht katalogisierte die Vielfalt der Nation am Vorabend des Amerikanischen Bürgerkrieges. Soths Amerika des beginnenden 21. Jahrhunderts wird ebenfalls als eine spannungsgeladene Zeit beschrieben, in der die Nation mit ihren widersprüchlichen Sehnsüchten nach Individualität und Gemeinschaft ringt.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint die Publikation "Alec Soth. Gathered Leaves Annotated", MACK Verlag, 55 €.

Als Fortsetzung des Bestsellers Gathered Leaves vereint diese einzigartige Publikation fünf von Soths wichtigsten Büchern in ihrer Gesamtheit in einem einzigen, kompakten und detailreichen Band. Auf mehr als 700 Zeitungspapierseiten aktualisiert Soth die Originalversion von Gathered Leaves und stellt sie neu dar, indem er jede Doppelseite dieser fünf Bücher mit detaillierten Anmerkungen in Form von Notizen, Textauszügen und zusätzlichen Fotos reproduziert. Dieser neue Wegweiser durch Soths Oeuvre enthält auch eine neue Einführung des Künstlers.

Soths kometenhafter Aufstieg zu internationalem Ruhm begann mit seinem ersten Buch Sleeping by the Mississippi (2004), einem elegischen Roadtrip entlang der "dritten Küste" der Vereinigten Staaten, das sich seitdem in zahlreichen Auflagen verkauft hat und weithin als Klassiker anerkannt ist. Der Erfolg seiner nachfolgenden Bände Niagara (2006), Broken Manual (2010) und Songbook (2015) untermauerte Soths lyrischen, aber schonungslosen Ansatz und festigte seine Position als Meister der Buchform. Sein jüngstes Werk, A Pound of Pictures (2022), wirft einen neuen, poetischen Blick auf die Eigenheiten des amerikanischen Lebens und die Praxis des Bildermachens, die Soth einmal mehr in seinem mittlerweile unverwechselbaren Road-Trip-Format thematisiert.

Gathered Leaves
CANADA. 2005. Rebecca
© Alec Soth / Magnum Photos
Gathered Leaves
USA. Winona, Minnesota. 2002. Peter’s houseboat. Sleeping by the Mississippi
© Alec Soth / Magnum Photos
Gathered Leaves
Alec Soth: Gathered Leaves Annotated
Paperback with fold-out map jacket
Printed on newspaper
21.5 x 26 cm, 720 pages
ISBN 978-1-913620-78-3
€55